The Grapefruit. By Rei

citrusThe Grapefruit
Written and presented by: Rei

 Hi, I’m Georgia. I live here in Whole Foods, the grocery store. Oops! I totally forgot to tell you, I’m a grapefruit. I’m here today to tell you what usually happens on a daily basis. “Oh, hi Theo.”

“Oh, hi Georgia.” He talked to me! Oops—sorry, off topic—he’s just so sweet. Well, anyway, that day the store opened, a man named Eric came to our shelf and he picked two of my friends, Ava and Ben. I can’t blame him, they are the cleanest ones, at least on our shelf. I never get picked! I guess I just have too many birthmarks and I’m a little weirdly shaped. But I don’t get it. I mean, I know some of us are a little cleaner than others, but for the most part, we all taste the same. I guess what I’m trying to say is, don’t judge a book by its cover.

This is the second in a four-part series of student writing by our fifth grade students.

, , , ,

About Tower School, Marblehead MA 01945

View all posts by Tower School, Marblehead MA 01945

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “The Grapefruit. By Rei”

  1. Kit Jenkins Says:

    Hello Georgia the Grapefruit. I read your story with interest, but when your photo came up, and I actually got to see you, I knew that if I had the chance to pick you, I would because you are unique in shape, and beautiful because of that!

    Reply

  2. Christine Henderson Says:

    I loved your story, Rei! You would make a really good grapefruit! And I particularly liked how you wove in the life lesson of not judging a book by its cover. Great work!

    Reply

  3. Deb Strainge Says:

    Well done, Rei! This is wonderful writing and you presented it beautifully.

    Reply

We welcome your comments. What do you think?

