Tower’s Second Grade Students Visit the Beyond Human: Artist-Animal Collaboration Exhibit at the PEM

The second grade classes visited the Peabody Essex Museum to see the Here to Ear exhibit and the Beyond Human: Artist-Animal Collaboration Exhibit. Beyond Human: ArtistAnimal Collaborations features nearly 40 paintings, installations, photographs and audio and video recordings by artists who co-create or investigate art with live animals. Here are the students’ reflections on their trip.

Reactions to the Beyond Human: Artist-Animal Collaboration Exhibit

Artist-Animal Collaboration Exhibit

Abby- I was amazed that the elephant could paint such a beautiful picture.

Kabir- I was flabberghasted by the bug video that showed it stepping on ink and making art

Michaela- I thought it was cool to see a real buffalo.

Ben- I was stunned that they could actually get the polar bear’s heartbeat.

JuJu- When I learned that animals could do art, I thought about making a picture using an animal’s footprints.

Anthony- I didn’t know that elephants could paint.

Victoria- What hit me was how I got to see an elephant’s painting.

Craig- I was stunned that the fly (and other bugs) could make art.

Lidia- I was amazed how animals are a lot like people.

Mrs. Thomson- I was reminded that there is music and art in nature.

About Tower School, Marblehead MA 01945

View all posts by Tower School, Marblehead MA 01945

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Tower’s Second Grade Students Visit the Beyond Human: Artist-Animal Collaboration Exhibit at the PEM”

  1. Mrs. Thomson Says:

    As always, second grade had so much fun at the PEM. We are always impressed and inspired by the exhibits and the people that work at the PEM.
    We can’t wait to go back!

    Reply

We welcome your comments. What do you think?

