Tower’s Second Grade Students Visit the Here To Ear Exhibit at the PEM

Screen Shot 2014-01-30 at 2.45.49 PMThe second grade visited the Peabody Essex Museum to see the Here to Ear Exhibit. In the Here to Ear Exhibit, the artist introduces a flock of Zebra Finches to a gallery of iconic Gibson Les Paul and Thunderbird bass guitars. A constantly changing soundscape emerges as the finches begin perching on the amplified instruments.

Here are their reflections on their trip.

Reflections on the Here to Ear Exhibit

Amelia- I was astonished that the birds could make music on the guitar.

Gavin- I thought it was amazing that the birds were not afraid of people and would come perch on your hand.

Cole- I was struck by how much the birds sounded like real musicians.

David- I was flabberghasted by what the artist came up with using the birds.

Alex C.- I was surprised by the fact that the finches could play music.

Jenny- I was struck by the tail of the bird that looked like a zebra.

Maxine- I liked the birds’ music.

Eleanor- I learned that art and music do not always come from people but can come from nature, too.

Brooke- I liked hearing the birds playing the music.

Kate- I was amazed by how fast the birds could fly.

Felix- I was inspired by how cool those zebra finches were.

Andy- I was amazed that the birds would actually go to the guitar and play music.

Lindsey- I was astonished by all the stuffed birds that were on the wall and how realistic they are.

Henry- I was struck by the fact that it was actually music that was made by birds.

Alex B.- I was amazed by how close you could get to the birds.

Mrs. Perrella- I was impressed by the artist’s unique idea to use birds to make music in a manner other than through their singing.

About Tower School, Marblehead MA 01945

View all posts by Tower School, Marblehead MA 01945

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Tower’s Second Grade Students Visit the Here To Ear Exhibit at the PEM”

  1. Peter Philip Says:

    Really wonderful exhibit — and wonderfully thoughtful comments from Tower’s second graders!! Great job!

    Reply

  2. Shannon O'Leary Says:

    I’m flabbergasted by the second grade’s use of the word flabbergasted! 🙂

    Reply

We welcome your comments. What do you think?

