I Used To Think, But Now I Know

Tower’s fifth grade writing students recalled a few misunderstandings they had when they were younger. In this assignment entitled, I Used To Think…But Now I Know, students wrote about hundreds of things that they’ve been able to clear up. Not surprisingly, clouds, monsters and weather were common themes in this writing assignment. Today’s post shares a few of the most unusual examples.

Check back soon for their next post.

 

I used to think that eventually, I would catch up to my sister in age.
But now I know
that she will always be two years older than me, no matter what.
Mariel

I used to think that when people said they stole my nose that they weren’t joking around and they actually took it.
But now I know that it was just a joke and it wasn’t supposed to look real.
– Will

I used to think that it was possible to breathe underwater if you glued a fish to your face.
Now I know it’s impossible for humans to breath underwater.
– Peter

I used to think you could skip the days of the week.
But now I know you can’t skip the days of the week. Even Mondays.
– Dana

I used to think that my dog was an ambulance and she would always save me.
But now I know that she just happened to be in the my way when I was about to get hurt.
– Jack

I used to think that the hair dresser could make my hair shorter or longer.
But now I know that I can only have my hair cut shorter.
– Willa

I used to think if I gave dogs food they would like me more than anyone.
But now I know dogs just love food, and if I give it to them, they will beg for more and get fatter.
– Russell

I used to think that when I was little I thought that Gummy Bears were made out of bear extracts.
But now I know that the ingredients on the package mentioned nothing about bear fur.
– Rachel

I used to think that if I waved at a plane everyone on it could see you and wave back.
But know I know that planes are so high up that people can’t see me waving to them.
– Quinn

I used to think that the cleaning machine on the bottom of my grandparents pool was a sea monster that would suck me up, so I kept away from it.
But now I know that it only cleans the pool and it’s not alive.
– Nina

I used to think I was being filmed and put on tv.
But now I know the world does not revolve around me.
– Miles

I used to think that dinosaurs were real and they would eat everybody except me, and I would be the ruler, because I had one big “sharp fang” in the front of my mouth.
But now I know that they are not real; but I can still dream.
– Michael

I used to think that sharks would come out of the floor and eat me, so I always left a track of clothes in my room leading from my bed to my door.
But now I know that sharks can’t live in floors, and even if they did, they could still eat me through the clothing track.
– Jaden

I used to think that when you die you come back as a talking animal.
But now I know that talking animals don’t exist.
– Max

I used to think if I got really high on a swing I could go all the way around the pole.
But now I know that I can’t because the gravity will pull me down.
– Anna

 

 

About Tower School, Marblehead MA 01945

View all posts by Tower School, Marblehead MA 01945

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “I Used To Think, But Now I Know”

  1. Shannon O'Leary Says:

    I used to think that if I ate a black watermelon seed a watermelon would grow in my belly. But now I know the stomach is not a viable fruit growing environment.

    Reply

  2. Parker Says:

    I used to think that it was the same time all over the world. Now I know that the earth revolves around the sun and that there are time zones to account for that.

    Reply

  3. Stephanie Curtis Says:

    I used to think I had to hold my breath when I passed a cemetery-so the ghosts wouldn’t get in, but now I know that ghosts can probably get right back out again.

    Reply

  4. Susie Twadell Says:

    I used to think that fifth graders couldn’t be amazing writers, but now I know that they make the best, most honest, endearing, and creative writers of all!

    Reply

We welcome your comments. What do you think?

