I Used To Think… But Now I Know.

April 10, 2014

Education, Student Writing

Tower’s fifth grade writing students recalled a few misunderstandings they had when they were younger. In this assignment entitled, I Used To Think…But Now I Know, students wrote about hundreds of things that they’ve been able to clear up. Not surprisingly, clouds, monsters and weather were common themes in this writing assignment. This is part two of a two-part post. Enjoy!

I used to think there were sharks in the pool, so I never went in the pool.
But now I know that sharks can’t even live in a pool.
Andrew

I used to think that my reflection was my identical twin.
But know I know that it is a just a reflection of my self.
Ava

I used to think that there were monsters in the radiators because of all the noises.
But now I know that it is just water flowing through them.
Chase

I used to think that there were chocolate milk cows that were brown and when you milked them instead of normal milk you got chocolate milk.
But now I know that chocolate milk is milk mixed with chocolate.
Christopher

I used to think that some days, Boston would disappear and make everybody that was in the city temporarily gone, but they would come back later.
But now I know that it’s just fog and that Boston is always still there.
Ellie

I used to think that when there was thunder God was bowling.
But know I know that it’s just hot and cold air meeting.
Jackson

I used to think that I could fly if I jumped off the top of my stairs and flapped my arms really hard.
But now I know that I can’t fly by flapping my arms, because I woke up with a huge bruise on my forehead.
Jake

I used to think that my toys would come to life at night when I wasn’t looking.
But now I know they’re just toys to play with.
Jonathan

I used to think that when you turned off a light in your bedroom a monster would grab your foot if you were not fast enough.
But now I know that monsters are not real.
Lara

I used to think that playing tag was a sport.
But now I know it’s just a game you play with your friends.
Sam

I used to think all of my stuffed animals in my room would come alive and have a huge party when I was asleep.
But now I know that they have no heart, brain or muscles to make them move or come to life.
Mason

I used to think that my window had invisible birds on it, because I always heard chirping in my room.
But now I know that there is no such thing as invisible birds, and there was a bird’s nest in between the window and the screen.
Mason

I used to think my dog was wolverine.
But now I know that her claws are not pencils and will not go into her paws.
Peter

I used to think that you could jump inside of a TV and be inside the TV show.
But now I know that you can’t do that, and the only thing that would happen if you tried to jump inside of a TV would be that you would get a hurt head, a scolding, and a broken TV.
Kalina

 

About Tower School, Marblehead MA 01945

View all posts by Tower School, Marblehead MA 01945

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

We welcome your comments. What do you think?

